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The 12 Best Shopify Apps to Increase AOV [2023]

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Increasing revenue is atop every e-commerce site’s priority list. However, the question is, “how to increase revenue?”

The simple answer is to sell more. While selling more is a good way to increase revenue, it’s not the most practical. The cost of customer acquisition and marketing can quickly drain profit margins. As a result, there has to be a better way to ensure revenue growth without spending more.

The answer is to increase average order value

In this article, we’re going to explore what average order value is and how you can increase it to boost revenue growth. We are also going to look at the twelve best Shopify apps to increase average order value in 2023.

So, let’s get on with it!

What is Average Order Value?

Average order value (AOV) refers to the average amount each customer spends on your e-commerce site. AOV is used to measure how much each customer is worth in terms of how much they spend. Naturally, the more a customer spends, the more valuable they become to your business.

Also, AOV is a useful metric to measure your Shopify store’s performance. You can tell your store is performing well when you notice your AOV steadily climbing. In contrast, a falling AOV means something is keeping customers from spending more per purchase.

Please note the AOV can help take your e-commerce site to the next level. So, it’s crucial to ensure that you keep this metric in mind as you plan your sales and marketing efforts.

How is Average Order Value Calculated?

Calculating AOV is pretty straightforward.

Let’s take a look at this example:

ABC Store sold $1,000 in an hour. The site registered a total number of 5 transactions. Thus, we have $1,000 / 5 = $200. In this example, the store’s AOV is $200.

Now, let’s incorporate some changes.

ABC Store sold $1,200 in an hour. The site registered a total of 5 transactions. Thus, we have $1,200 / 5 = $240. As you can see, the site’s AOV has now jumped to $240.

How so?

Sales increased in dollar amounts. But the number of transactions remained the same. As a result, the AOV in this period climbed by $40.

Now, let’s consider this situation:

ABC Store sold $800 in an hour. The site registered a total of 5 transactions. Thus, we have $800 / 5 = $160. As you can see, the site’s AOV has now dropped to $160 from the original $200. This situation highlights how AOV can drop even when the number of transactions stays the same. 

The key lies in how much customers spend per transaction. You don’t need to increase the number of transactions. You need to increase the number of sales per period. 

Why is AOV Important for your Shopify Store?

AOV is a critical component of your online store’s success. Here are three compelling reasons why Shopify AOV is critical for your e-commerce site’s success:

Customer acquisition is expensive. It’s always much more expensive to find new customers than to sell to existing ones. It’s always much more cost-effective to upsell and cross-sell your current customers since they already know your products and value proposition. You don’t need to spend nearly as much money as it would promoting to new customers.

Keep costs in check. Upselling and cross-selling are like doing more with less. When you can upsell your existing customers, you can keep your costs in check. In other words, you can do a lot more with a lot less by focusing on increasing your Shopify store’s AOV. 

Clear your inventory. One of the worst things any e-commerce site can go through is growing inventory. Boosting your AOV helps keep your inventory moving. Consequently, you can keep costs in check by keeping your inventory in check.

Grow your sales with high-performing deals.

How to Find the Best Shopify AOV Apps?

Here’s a secret to boosting your Shopify AOV: use automated apps! Apps can help boost your AOV by offering promotions and offers such as:

Traditional e-commerce platforms require coding to incorporate changes such as these into your Shopify store.

Well, not anymore. Shopify AOV apps can take care of the heavy lifting for you. But how can you find the best Shopify AOV apps?

There are five questions you must consider:

Answering these questions will help you figure out the best Shopify AOV App. 

The 12 Best Shopify Apps to Increase AOV

App Name

PRICe

Free Trial

Number of Reviews

rating

Support

PickyStory

Free to install

7 days

346

4.8

Email, live chat, video call

BoxBuilder

$19.99/month

7 days

125

4.8

Email

Bundle Products

Upsell

$12.49/month

14 days

708

4.9

Email

Cart Upsell + Free

Gifts Monster

$12.99/month

10 days

333

4.9

Email

Crophike

$15/month

Free plan available

5

5.0

Email

Essential Free

Shipping Bar

Free

N/A

101

5.0

Email

In Cart Upsell

& Cross Sell

$19.99/month

30 days

833

4.9

Email, live chat

Mode Magic

$9/month

Free plan available

540

4.9

Email

ReConvert Upsell

& Cross Sell 

$4.99/month

30 days

3480

4.9

Email

Selleasy

$6.99/month

30 days

482

5.0

Email, live chat, video call

Upsell & Bundle

Products

Free

N/A

230

4.9

Email

Wide Bundles

$16/month

N/A

302

4.8

Email

#1: PickyStory

PickyStory’s platform has a suite of tools designed specifically to increase your average order value. PickyStory allows you to take any product in your store, and add an upsell deal to that product (either displayed on the page or as a popup). You can also use PickyStory to create mix-and-match deals that encourage customers to add more products to their cart. 

Another powerful feature to increase your AOV is the ability to sell bundles as products. These can be added to your collections and look like regular products, except that they are made up of multiple SKUs. Customers see the bundle, appreciate the ease of adding several products at once, and your AOV increases instantly.

how to find the best discount app shopify
Source: apps.shopify.com/product-kits-bundles-pickystory

Why do we love this Shopify app to increase AOV?

#2: BoxBuilder: DIY Product Bundle

BoxBuilder: DIY Product Bundle by StayTuned is a Shopify app for AOV you want to keep on your radar. This great app allows you to create bespoke product bundles and gift boxes. Boost your revenue by kickstarting AOV through unlimited customizations. 

You have total control over everything your site needs: the number of products to be added, discount tiers, messaging, branding, and much more.

how to calculate shopify aov
Source: apps.shopify.com/boxup-product-builder

Why do we love this Shopify app to increase AOV?

#3: Bundle Products | Upsell

Bundle Products | Upsell by WebContrive Technologies Pvt Ltd is a great Shopify app for AOV that you definitely want to check out. Increase your e-commerce site’s AOV by creating product combos, variants, bundles, and mix-and-match offers. 

Engage your customers with killer promos and offer that are sure to keep them coming back for more. Keep your product combos and bundles fresh with this great Shopify app for AOV.

top apps to boost shopify aov
Source: apps.shopify.com/bundle-products-by-thimatic

Why do we love this Shopify app to increase AOV?

#4: Cart Upsell+Free Gifts Monster

Cart Upsell+Free Gifts Monster by Monster Upsells is a wonderful Shopify app for AOV that is sure to pique your interest. This awesome app allows you to create a slide cart drawer that increases your e-commerce site’s AOV. 

Plus, you can customize your cart to include progress bars, free gifts, frequently bought-together items, shipping protection, discounts, and bundles. You can easily upsell your customers with this amazing Shopify app for AOV.

raise aov shopify apps
Source: apps.shopify.com/monster-upsells

Why do we love this Shopify app to increase AOV?

#5: Crophike - AOV Boost & Rewards

Crophike – AOV Boost & Rewards by OneRetain is one of the best Shopify apps for AOV on our list. Increase your e-commerce site’s AOV by rewarding your customers. 

This intuitive system allows you to create rewards your customers want to get. You can automate your rewards programs based on specific criteria customers must meet. Once they hit the targets, your customers reap their rewards.

ecommerce aov apps
Source: apps.shopify.com/crophike

Why do we love this Shopify app to increase AOV?

#6: Essential Free Shipping Bar

Essential Free Shipping Bar by Essentials is a great free Shopify app for AOV. Boost your e-commerce site’s AOV by showing a free shipping progress bar. You can display an unlimited number of free shipping bars to boost AOV. 

Set various goals to entice customers to add more items to their carts. You can set goals for free shipping, discount codes, or any other promotions. Use this awesome free shipping bar to take your e-commerce site to the next level. 

best shopify apps to increase aov
Source: apps.shopify.com/essential-order-value-booster

Why do we love this Shopify app to increase AOV?

#7: In Cart Upsell & Cross Sell

In Cart Upsell & Cross Sell by In Cart Upsell is another one of the best Shopify apps for AOV. This great app allows you to use the power of popups to upsell customers. Use killer offers on product pages and cart to kickstart AOV. 

Make it easy for customers to add more products when they have already gone to checkout. This app simplifies adding more products to the cart leading to increased AOV.

how to find the best shopify aov apps
Source: apps.shopify.com/in-cart-upsell

Why do we love this Shopify app to increase AOV?

#8: ModeMagic - Store Conversions

ModeMagic – Store Conversions by Mason is an all-in-one sales engine that allows you to convert sales faster than ever. Increase your AOV by boosting conversions leading to more repeat business. 

This great Shopify app for AOV provides highly used analytics and reporting to help you get the most out of your sales and marketing efforts.

what is aov shopify
Source: apps.shopify.com/product-labels-badges-modemagic

Why do we love this Shopify app to increase AOV?

#9: ReConvert Upsell & Cross-sell

ReConvert Upsell & Cross-sell by ReConvert makes the list of the best Shopify apps for AOV by upselling and cross-selling customers. Use the power of a thank-you upsell and cross-sell page to get customers to spend more. 

One-click upselling and cross-selling features enable you to keep your e-commerce site’s AOV growing. This great app uses special offers for birthdays, special occasions, and thank-you promotions.

how is aov calculated
Source: apps.shopify.com/reconvert-upsell-cross-sell

Why do we love this Shopify app to increase AOV?

#10: Upsell & Bundle Products

Upsell & Bundle Products by Assortion is a wonderful free Shopify app for AOV that is sure to top your list. Increase your AOV by using frequently bought-together suggestions. Cross-sell your customers by using discounts and post-purchase offers. You get the best offers on the market by using this awesome app.

shopify app to increase aov
Source: apps.shopify.com/assortion

Why do we love this Shopify app to increase AOV?

#11: Upsell & Cross Sell - Selleasy

Upsell & Cross Sell – Selleasy by LogBase is on the list of best Shopify apps for AOV, thanks to its one-click upsell and cross-sell features. Use product add-ons to boost AOV. Increase conversion rates and AOV by prompting customers to add more products. Get multi-language and multi-currency support with this killer app for AOV.

best shopify apps to lift aov
Source: apps.shopify.com/upsell-cross-sell-kit-1

Why do we love this Shopify app to increase AOV?

#12: Wide Bundles

Wide Bundles by mat de Sousa makes our list of the best Shopify apps for AOV due to its powerful ability to create product variants and bundles. Build cool offers to increase AOV. Use BOGO, bundles, combos, and special offers to upsell customers. 

This great app streamlines the purchase process to make upselling that much easier. Get the most out of your Shopify store with this great app.

top shopify apps to increase aov
Source: apps.shopify.com/widebundle

Why do we love this Shopify app to increase AOV?

Boost Your Store’s Revenue with PickyStory

Use PickyStory to increase your average order value and your store’s overall revenue. With PickyStory, you can create a variety of deals and discounts to encourage your customers to purchase more, each time they visit your store.

Grow your sales with high-performing deals.

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Frequently Bought Together

Present bundles of products that are frequently purchased together, simplifying the decision-making process for your customers

What is Frequently Bought Together?

It is a recommendation scenario that suggests additional products to the shopper, which are often purchased by other customers in conjunction with the item they are currently viewing or considering purchasing.

Why are brands using it?

How Zenbivy uses Frequently Bought Together

Zenbivy simplifies the shopping experience by displaying all the needed pieces of its sleeping systems on one page, under each product that is part of a sleeping system. This way, shoppers don't need to go through multiple pages and guess what goes with what. Zenbivy enjoys much larger orders, and shoppers can have a seamless experience.

www.zenbivy.com

Create Frequently Bought Together

Build Your Own Bundle

Offer shoppers the ability to create their own bundle of products by selecting from a range of available options

What is Build Your Own Bundle?

Build Your Own Bundle scenario provides shoppers with the flexibility to select specific items or features that best meet their individual needs and preferences. The selection is based on a pre-curated set of products by the merchant.

Why are brands using it?

How Prodigy uses Build Your Own Bundle

Prodigy enables its shoppers to build their own bundle of golf discs, fully personalizing the shopping experience. Shoppers get an easy way to select their favorite discs while Prodigy consistently increases its AOV.

www.prodigystore.eu

Create Build Your Own Bundle

Bundle as Product

Combine multiple individual products into a bundle and sell them as a single unit

What is Bundle as Product?

Bundle as Product scenario involves bundling multiple individual products together and selling them as a single unit. This strategy offers shoppers a curated selection of items that work together or complement each other.

Why are brands using it?

How Gravity Fitness uses Bundle as Product

Gravity Fitness knows that it's not an easy task for shoppers to collect all the required pieces for a complete home gym. That's why they have created pre-made home gym bundles for an easy shopping experience. Now they have fewer SKU issues, a higher AOV, and happier customers.

www.gravity.fitness

Create Bundle as product

Complete the Bundle

Encourage shoppers to add the missing items to complete the bundle when they add items to cart

What is Complete the Bundle?

Complete the Bundle popup is a deal that appears when a shopper has added some items to their shopping cart but has not yet added all the recommended or related products that typically go together.

Why are brands using it?

How Petliking.com uses Complete the Bundle

Petliking.com never misses an opportunity to offer more products to its shoppers after they add an item to cart. By offering to complete the bundle, Petliking.com helps shoppers to discover additional related items that complement each other while increasing its order size.

www.petliking.com

Create Complete the Bundle

Bundle as Product

Combine multiple individual products into a bundle and sell them as a single unit

What is Bundle as Product?

Bundle as Product scenario involves bundling multiple individual products together and selling them as a single unit. This strategy offers shoppers a curated selection of items that work together or complement each other.

Why are brands using it?

How Doodle Couture uses Bundle as Product

Doodle Couture makes it so easy for shoppers to equip their best friend with the required outfit. Instead of moving back and forth between pages, Doodle Couture offer a complete bundle for pets on one page with a single click. This boosts AOV while making the shopper happy.

www.doodlecouture.com

Create Bundle as product

Complete the Bundle

Encourage shoppers to add the missing items to complete the bundle when they add items to cart

What is Complete the Bundle?

Complete the Bundle popup is a deal that appears when a shopper has added some items to their shopping cart but has not yet added all the recommended or related products that typically go together.

Why are brands using it?

How A&D Performance uses Complete the Bundle

A&D Performance always seizes intent-based opportunities to offer additional supplements when shoppers add items to their cart. By displaying a 'Complete the Bundle' popup, A&D Performance increases their Average Order Value (AOV) while helping their customers discover more products.

www.andperformance.com

Create Complete the Bundle

Bundle as Product

Combine multiple individual products into a bundle and sell them as a single unit

What is Bundle as Product?

Bundle as Product scenario involves bundling multiple individual products together and selling them as a single unit. This strategy offers shoppers a curated selection of items that work together or complement each other.

Why are brands using it?

How Koala Babycare uses Bundle as Product

Koala Babycare simplifies its shoppers lives by offering complete cream & oil sets. Shoppers can easily pick their favorite bundles and save while Koala Babycare increases its AOV and number of orders.

www.koalababycare.com

Create Bundle as product

Spend X Get Y

Encourage shoppers to spend a certain amount of money (X) in order to receive a specific benefit or reward (Y)

What is Spend X Get Y?

"Spend X, Get Y" promotions are designed to motivate shoppers to spend more money with the promise of receiving something valuable in return. It's a win-win situation where customers get a benefit, and the store increases its sales.

Why are brands using it?

How Jose Pizarro uses Spend X Get Y

Jose Pizarro takes advantage of PickyCart and 'Spend X Get Y' to reward shoppers with free shipping when they spend £75 in-store. This is a win-win offer for both sides - while Jose Pizarro increases the AOV, shoppers receive a sweet reward.

www.josepizarro.com

Create Spend X Get Y

Complete the Bundle

Encourage shoppers to add the missing items to complete the bundle when they add items to cart

What is Complete the Bundle?

Complete the Bundle popup is a deal that appears when a shopper has added some items to their shopping cart but has not yet added all the recommended or related products that typically go together.

Why are brands using it?

How Agrestis uses Complete the Bundle

Agrestis makes sure to consistently display a variety of spirits to their shoppers at the right moment. As shoppers add spirits to the cart, Agrestis extends an offer to include more related spirits, resulting in an improved shopping experience and a higher Average Order Value (AOV).

www.stagrestis.com

Create Complete the Bundle

Build Your Own Bundle

Offer shoppers the ability to create their own bundle of products by selecting from a range of available options

What is Build Your Own Bundle?

Build Your Own Bundle scenario provides shoppers with the flexibility to select specific items or features that best meet their individual needs and preferences. The selection is based on a pre-curated set of products by the merchant.

Why are brands using it?

How Wisdom Foods uses Build Your Own Bundle

Wisdom Foods wanted to upgrade its shopping experience by making it easy for shoppers to pick their desired syrups. Now it allows shoppers to build their own bundles of syrups from a single page and checking out. This increases Wisdom Foods' order sizes while providing a personalized experience to their shoppers.

www.wisdomfoods.com.au

Create Build Your Own Bundle

Bundle as Product

Combine multiple individual products into a bundle and sell them as a single unit

What is Bundle as Product?

Bundle as Product scenario involves bundling multiple individual products together and selling them as a single unit. This strategy offers shoppers a curated selection of items that work together or complement each other.

Why are brands using it?

How Dineamic uses Bundle as Product

Dineamic takes advantage of bundles to package their pre-made meals by dietary requirements, so every shopper can quickly and easily find the desired category of meals and add them all with a single click. This simplifies the shopping experience and benefits both sides, as Dineamic boosts its Average Order Value (AOV).

www.dineamic.com.au

Create Bundle as product

Bundle as Product

Combine multiple individual products into a bundle and sell them as a single unit

What is Bundle as Product?

Bundle as Product scenario involves bundling multiple individual products together and selling them as a single unit. This strategy offers shoppers a curated selection of items that work together or complement each other.

Why are brands using it?

How Line Furniture uses Bundle as Product

Line furniture simplifies its shoppers lives by offering complete furniture sets in different styles. Now shoppers can easily find their favorite living room and save while Line Furniture increases its AOV and number of orders.

www.linefurniture.se

Create Bundle as product

Complete the Bundle

Encourage shoppers to add the missing items to complete the bundle when they add items to cart

What is Complete the Bundle?

Complete the Bundle popup is a deal that appears when a shopper has added some items to their shopping cart but has not yet added all the recommended or related products that typically go together.

Why are brands using it?

How Sobel Home uses Complete the Bundle

Sobel Home never misses an opportunity to offer more products to its shoppers after they add an item to cart. By offering to complete the bundle, Sobel Home helps shoppers to discover additional related items that complement each other while increasing its order size.

www.sobelathome.com

Create Complete the Bundle

Frequently Bought Together

Present bundles of products that are frequently purchased together, simplifying the decision-making process for your customers

What is Frequently Bought Together?

It is a recommendation scenario that suggests additional products to the shopper, which are often purchased by other customers in conjunction with the item they are currently viewing or considering purchasing.

Why are brands using it?

How By Benson uses Frequently Bought Together

By Benson never misses an opportunity to offer more options to its customers. While shoppers visit their product pages, they constantly offer to extend or upgrade the targeted product, resulting in better service and larger orders.

www.bybenson.com

Create Frequently Bought Together

Build Your Own Bundle

Offer shoppers the ability to create their own bundle of products by selecting from a range of available options

What is Build Your Own Bundle?

Build Your Own Bundle scenario provides shoppers with the flexibility to select specific items or features that best meet their individual needs and preferences. The selection is based on a pre-curated set of products by the merchant.

Why are brands using it?

How By Benson uses Build Your Own Bundle

As a professional destination for home gardeners, By Benson understands that it might be tricky to select all the necessary tools to make your garden shine. That's why By Benson helps its shoppers choose bundles of tools with a single click, while boosting their Average Order Value (AOV).

www.bybenson.com

Create Build Your Own Bundle

Build Your Own Bundle

Offer shoppers the ability to create their own bundle of products by selecting from a range of available options

What is Build Your Own Bundle?

Build Your Own Bundle scenario provides shoppers with the flexibility to select specific items or features that best meet their individual needs and preferences. The selection is based on a pre-curated set of products by the merchant.

Why are brands using it?

How Good Store uses Build Your Own Bundle

Good Store encourages its shoppers to build their own custom bundles of soaps. They provide a variety of soaps to choose from and leave the selection itself to the shopper. This is fun, rewarding, and makes both sides happy.

www.good.store

Create Build Your Own Bundle

Bundle as Product

Combine multiple individual products into a bundle and sell them as a single unit

What is Bundle as Product?

Bundle as Product scenario involves bundling multiple individual products together and selling them as a single unit. This strategy offers shoppers a curated selection of items that work together or complement each other.

Why are brands using it?

How Westman Atelier uses Bundle as Product

Westman Atelier understands that the attention span of the average shopper is quite short. Furthermore, with numerous options available, it's often easier to opt for a suggested bundle that's already curated for you.

www.westman-atelier.com

Create Bundle as product

Frequently Bought Together

Present bundles of products that are frequently purchased together, simplifying the decision-making process for your customers

What is Frequently Bought Together?

It is a recommendation scenario that suggests additional products to the shopper, which are often purchased by other customers in conjunction with the item they are currently viewing or considering purchasing.

Why are brands using it?

How Aim’n uses Frequently Bought Together

Aim'n never misses a shopper when it comes to its product pages. It utilizes the 'Frequently Bought Together' feature to suggest additional sizes to product viewers, ensuring that no shopper is left without a solution while keeping its main sizes as the default option.

www.aimn.se

Create Frequently Bought Together

Bundle as Product

Combine multiple individual products into a bundle and sell them as a single unit

What is Bundle as Product?

Bundle as Product scenario involves bundling multiple individual products together and selling them as a single unit. This strategy offers shoppers a curated selection of items that work together or complement each other.

Why are brands using it?

How BLANQI uses Bundle as Product

BLANQI make it easy for their shoppers to find complete maternity sets. While shoppers receive a fast, single-click shopping experience, BLANQI enjoys higher order amounts without investing any additional resources.

www.blanqi.com

Create Bundle as product

Build Your Own Bundle

Offer shoppers the ability to create their own bundle of products by selecting from a range of available options

What is Build Your Own Bundle?

Build Your Own Bundle scenario provides shoppers with the flexibility to select specific items or features that best meet their individual needs and preferences. The selection is based on a pre-curated set of products by the merchant.

Why are brands using it?

How Carly Jean uses Build Your Own Bundle

Carly Jean offers its shoppers the opportunity to build their own custom looks by selecting the individual items that comprise their desired outfit. 'Build Your Own Bundle' enables Carly Jean to easily provide a personalized experience that shoppers love and want to return to again and again.

www.carlyjeanlosangeles.com

Create Build Your Own Bundle

Spend X Get Y

Encourage shoppers to spend a certain amount of money (X) in order to receive a specific benefit or reward (Y)

What is Spend X Get Y?

"Spend X, Get Y" promotions are designed to motivate shoppers to spend more money with the promise of receiving something valuable in return. It's a win-win situation where customers get a benefit, and the store increases its sales.

Why are brands using it?

How Proclamation Jewelry uses Spend X Get Y

Proclamation Jewelry encourages its shoppers to spend at least $500 on jewelry in-store to receive free shipping. This is a win-win for both the shoppers, who get free shipping (which can be expensive at times), and the brand, which maintains a higher average order value.

www.proclamationjewelry.com

Create Spend X Get Y

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